Weekend Update #2

Life Updates

Life in quarantine is getting pretty old after 7 weeks, but we are making the most of it. We have watched just about every Netflix movie, I finalized and launched this blog, we completed and gave up on several puzzles, and have gone on many walks. This weekend we decided to go on a quarantine date, try a new recipe, and support one of our favorite local businesses. Not the craziest weekend, but I told y’all I would update you on life so here it is!

I’ve mentioned CRU Wine Bar on another post, my favorite restaurant in Austin, and their fabulous deals. We took advantage of their buy one get one free pizza deal and set up a date night at the park. I also had to order their goat cheese beignets – if you go you have to get these as an appetizer.

Pizza without wine is basically a crime so I grabbed a bottle of Tempranillo and my wine bag. This wine bag was a Christmas gift from Richy’s parents and makes to go wine possible. It includes two wine glasses, a bottle opener, napkins, a bottle stopper, and insulated slots for 2 bottles – so basically it is the best thing since sliced bread. I could not find the exact one they got me, but this gives you the idea if you want one for yourself! We headed to Zilker Park and set up a picnic for the sweetest Friday night date.

On Saturday I woke up with an intense buffalo chicken craving and had to act on it. I winged a recipe from the ingredients below and ended up with 3 cheese buffalo chicken quesadillas with rice and beans & celery/carrots with ranch. The celery and carrots are kinda random now that I think about it, but in the craving mindset I was thinking Wingstop’s buffalo sauce – which pairs great with these two veggies & ranch. I mixed the Frank’s Red Hot, cheese, green onions, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and taco seasoning in a bowl with the shredded chicken. Then I heated up the HEB Bakery tortillas, the best kind, added more cheese, and voila – the craving was satisfied.

After we gained ten pounds from the quesadillas, we walked it off on our 4 mile route around East Austin and ended at our favorite small business, Dolce Bacio Gelato. I have to tell y’all about this place – best gelato in Austin & the sweetest owners straight from Italy. They are in this pink food truck on East Cesar Chavez, but they also do catering and have a traveling bike downtown. She uses only natural authentic ingredients and has the best flavors that are bold & real! My favorite are the stracciatella, Nutella, and coffee. Richy loves their almond, salted caramel, and vanilla. Go check them out if you are in Austin, follow them on Instagram, and support this sweet small business. Truly the most genuine business owners I have ever met with the cutest Italian accents!

Overall it was a good weekend & fingers crossed that next weekend is another step closer to normalcy in this weird time we are in! I am going to work on some posts in other parts of my blog menu this week and have some more content up for y’all. Stay safe & I hope you have great week!

-oxox Danielle

Leave a comment